Antique vehicle registration is a special form of motor vehicle registration for vehicles that are considered antiqueclassicvintageor historic. Both the specific term used and the definition of a qualifying vehicle vary from country to country, as well as within a country if it is a federation. Typically, an antique vehicle is defined by its age at the time at which antique vehicle registration is sought.
In addition to passenger plates, a wide variety of plates in non-passenger classifications were made on the map base as well. Most of these used serial formats consisting of a code letter followed by between four and six digits with the letter and first digit stacked as need be and expired on July 1st, some of which are shown below:. The most common non-passenger class by far, and also subject to the most interesting circumstances.
Not all states require vehicle safety inspections, but West Virginia requires drivers to undergo safety inspections for most vehicles every 12 months. If you fail a safety inspection or miss an annual inspection, the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles DMV has the right to demand you do not operate the vehicle until you remedy the situation. The majority of vehicles in West Virginia are subject to inspections every 12 months, with a few exceptions.
Obtaining antique car tags in West Virginia are procedures that are generally completed by owners of these types of vehicles through the state Division of Motor Vehicles DMV. Before applying for an antique or classic vehicle registration, motorists will need to ensure their ride meets the definition of an antique or classic car under state laws. In addition to this, drivers are usually required to complete specific application forms, submit the applicable documents and pay the set fees to finalize the process. Find out more about how to obtain WV vintage car license plates or antique tags by reading the below sections.
If you live in West Virginia, you have your choice of specialty license plates, from personalized tags to special plates for interests, colleges, and other organizations. You can usually apply for special plates in person or by mail. NOTE: Need disabled parking plates?
Before anyone can drive on West Virginia roads and highways, vehicles must be titled and registered beforehand. The license plate, registration card, and insurance certificate should be kept in the vehicle at all times. Search license plates registered in the state of West Virginia:.
West Virginia has several statutes that directly relate to motorcyclists, including licensure, inspections, and use of public roads. If you feel that your rights have been violated call us at and speak with an attorney who practices in West Virginia and is familiar with current West Virginia motorcycle laws. Special registration of Antique Motorcycles; definition; registration and use.
Links to Related Sites :. Want to know why we do not do Saturday car shows and why we include religious literature with all our stickers:. This site features Repro VIN tags, replacement car parts, build sheets from Mostly Ford Mustang and Cougar.
Monthly system in use. New slogan www. Stickers 11 - blue on white 12 - white on green 13 - black on orange 14 - black on yellow 15 - white on black 16 - blue on white Standard Passenger Plates Dec DXL Screened sticker, no www.
You must register your vehicle with the Department of Motor Vehicles if you are a resident of West Virginia. Application forms, relevant documents, and payment of fees must be submitted to have your vehicle processed. If you purchase a vehicle from a private dealer, you may be required to pick up temporary license plates to be able to drive on state roads legally. After you receive your license plates, they must be secured to both the front and rear of your vehicle.